VISA FREE Travel To Canada – 13 New Countries Added

Canada immigration 2023 | Visa Free travel to Canada | New Countries for Visa Free travel to Canada | Canada Immigration news | Canada Immigration Update | Visit Canada Without a visa | Canada Visit Visa

Canadian Immigration Minister, Sean Fraser made a BIG announcement about the Visa Free Travel to Canada on 6th of June, 2023 in his recent visit to Winnipeg, Manitoba. 13 New countries are added in the ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization) Program of Canada Immigration.

Citizens of these 13 countries can now travel to Canada without having a Visit Visa or a Tourist Visa (also called a Temporary Residence Visa / TRV).

13 New Countries allowed for Visa Free Travel To Canada

  • Thailand
  • Philippines
  • Morocco
  • Uruguay
  • St. Lucia
  • Panama
  • Seychelles
  • Costa Rica
  • Argentina
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • Antigua and Barbuda

Passport holders of these countries can apply for Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) instead of a Visit Visa. They can visit Canada for up to the period of 6 Six Months. Work and Study is not allowed during their trip to Canada. All the travelers must ensure that their visit to Canada on an ETA is purely for the purpose of Tourism or Visiting Friends / Family members.

visa free travel to Canada for 13 new countries

Conditions to Apply for ETA of Canada

Citizens of these 13 countries do not need a Visa to Visit Canada. However, they must apply for an ETA before there travel. If you want to apply for an ETA, you must travel to Canada by air and must meet any one of the following conditions

  • Had a Canadian Visa in the past 10 years, Or
  • Have a Valid US Non-Immigrant Visa

How To Apply For an ETA of Canada

To apply for an ETA (Electronic travel authorization) you may need

  • A valid passport (from eligible countries)
  • A valid email address
  • A credit card to pay the ETA fees online
  • A secure internet connection

It is just a few minutes of application process, and the ETA will be issued. The validity of the ETA is for 5 years or as of the validity of your travel document.

How much is the Fee for an ETA of Canada

The application fee for Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) of Canada is CAD$7.

According to Mr. Sean Fraser, this initiative for visa free travel to Canada will bring down the TRV application’s load on IRCC and Canada Immigration can process the pending applications more efficiently.

There are nearly 50 countries, whos citizens are allowed to travel to Canada with an ETA and without a Visa. But the passport holders from the countries who not eligible for applying for an ETA must apply for a Temporary Residence Visa of Canada i.e. Visit Visa or Tourist Visa.

ALSO READ: How To Apply For Canada Visit Visa Online in 2023

2 thoughts on “VISA FREE Travel To Canada – 13 New Countries Added

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *